If the Dance Floor Is Empty, Change the Song (and other lessons educators can learn from a mobile DJ)

My blog reposted from April 2013.

Dr. Clark's Chronicles

In my senior year of college I began helping my buddy Rich with his DJ service. He had been in business for a few years, was starting to expand, and he needed somebody to help him out. For the next eighteen years, DJing became my full part-time job. It was only over the past couple years that I’ve given that job up (although I come out of retirement every once in a while to do a gig for a friend or relative).

DJing and education have a lot in common. Over my years in the business, I came to learn a few things.

1. If the dance floor is empty, change the song. Image As much as you might want to sit around blaming the crowd for being boring, that’s not going to fill the dance floor. What will fill the dance floor is playing great music and being interactive…

View original post 719 more words

Leave a Reply

