Santa Is on Twitter. Are You?

Santa-is-on-TwitterWhen I was playing Santa Claus at Nordonia’s Winter Arts Festival this past Saturday, lots and lots of kids whispered their wishes into my ear. But what stuck out to me most was whispered by a parent!

After her son hopped off my lap, a mother of a first grader came up to me and said, “I know who you are because of Twitter!”

She said that she had been following me, Principal Staci Albanese (@StaciAlbanese) and several teachers on Twitter since her son started coming to school. This mother said that she felt so connected to the school because of our use of this free, easy-to-use tool.

She gave an example of a few weeks ago, when the Cleveland Cavs Scream Team danced at an assembly for the students, at which one of our teachers was surprised to be proposed to. When her son came home, the mom asked him what had happened at school.

His response was typical for a first grader: “Nothing.”

But because she followed several of us on Twitter, she knew all about the Scream Team and the proposal, and she was able to ask her son about those events and have a conversation with him.

Connection made.

I know I am preaching to the choir here. Chances are if you are reading this you are reading it because YOU are on Twitter too…but are there any good reasons left NOT to be on Twitter? I’ve been in the field of education for 23 years now, and not once has somebody complained that we communicate too much.

Indeed, a tool as simple as Twitter is not only a tool to communicate TO families, but in this case it can also facilitate communication AMONG families. Saturday was a wonderful reminder to me about why we do the things we do.

Leave a Reply

